Week 3-Almost a habit

Week 3 Was TOUGH!!!!

Some planner thoughts from the week. When I don’t write down my chores-I “forget” to do them. Even if they are set to remind me on EVERY SINGLE APPLE DEVICE I OWN! I still don’t do them.

This week was also full of school “to-dos”. Most of which I got done without having to take work home-which is of course the goal for this school year. To not spend every waking moment working. Challenge part 1 has been to use the planner. Challenge part 2 has been to work out every morning. With the exception of two days this week I have pulled myself out of bed at 5 am and worked out for 30 minutes. Still can’t seem to bring myself to go to the gym after school-maybe this week?

Finally, i have been trying to figure out why I am not nearly as stressed about school starting as I have been in the past. Some have suggested it is because I have been doing this for a while now and I feel comfortable. I am not sure if I agree. Anyone who knows me knows I am a high stress individual.

I think it is deeper. I have been spending a lot of time in prayer recently. The stress of a spouse being without work has put all other stress into perspective. There are many things that I worry about in life that I have absolutely no control over, and that is a pretty foolish thing to do. The only thing I can control is my response to things (positive or negative) that are placed in my way. I cannot do anything else.

I think this is the secret sauce for finding work/life balance. I am the controller of my own time. I cannot blame anyone else for the choices I make. The choice to stay late at school, the choice to put something off, or the choice to stop working at a decent hour are things I decide to do-not my school.

It is about making the daily (sometimes hourly) decision about what is most important in my life.

Leave a Reply

