Waiting for AL

I  am waiting for a friend. A dear friend, a friend who is going to help me with a project, but also a chronically never actually on time friend. Which means that I have been waiting at Starbucks for a crazy amount of time. However, I chose to do this, and in the amount of time I have spent waiting I have updated my desktop, downloaded a word processing software, checked and rechecked Facebook, drank a bunch of tea, and ate a blueberry scone. I also googled “work-life balance and teachers”. I thought I would find a BUNCH of stuff on this topic because it is always a topic when I get together with other teachers. However, I didn’t find much-and I didn’t find what I was looking for. Data from teachers-people in the trenches of education-trying to balance an enormous workload with replenishing one’s spirit and soul.

I have spent a lot of time this break trying to find some restoration. Restoration in my spiritual practice and restoration in my teaching practice. What has happened is that I, for the first time in forever (cue Frozen song) I am not particularly stressed. And this has led to me wanting to design my own 30 day challenges. To find and blog about the illusive work-life balance and how to keep this calmness that i have found.

Leave a Reply

